Yellow and Navy Scarf

Okay, so I’m not even remotely close to done with the green, brown, and white scarf (although I can tell you it is coming along beautifully (and soft!)), but I decided on a pattern for the yellow and navy scarf.

One reason I’m posting this is so you guys can see how much I alter patterns. :p

I’ve decided to use the Seaman’s Scarf pattern from Knit Picks, but with the following alterations:

  • Use navy and yellow worsted weight Cascade 220 instead of Cinnamon bulky Knit Picks Sierra
  • Use two strands instead of one (to account for the worsted-bulky difference)
  • Do the ends in yellow and the middle in navy
  • Make the middle longer (the original pattern is only 50″, plus I need about half to be yellow and half navy)
  • Work it in the round so there are no ugly garter stitch edges

Although I don’t know. I may go back to vertical stripes, or I may even change my mind yet again before I even get around to starting it. The only problem I foresee with my alterations is making the middle longer — the length the middle is in the original pattern is perfect for wrapping around your neck and then the cables start just after that. What do you think?

One Response to Yellow and Navy Scarf

  1. jules says:

    I’m sure whatever you do will be fine. Can’t wait to see the end result, I love cab;es.

Leave a Reply

